• STAAR - State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness

    The STAAR program at grades 3–8 assess the subjects listed below:

    • Grade 3 - reading and mathematics (English and Spanish versions)
    • Grade 4 - reading, mathematics (English and Spanish versions)
    • Grade 5 - reading, mathematics, and science (English and Spanish versions)
    • Grade 6 - reading and mathematics
    • Grade 7 - reading, mathematics
    • Grade 8 - reading, mathematics, science and social studies

    TEA Links

    High School End of Course (EOC)

    During high school, subject-specific assessments will include 5 end-of-course (EOC) assessments: Algebra I, Biology, English I (Reading & Writing), English II (Reading & Writing), and U.S. History.

    •  Grade 9 - STAAR EOC - Algebra I, English I, Biology
    •  Grade 10- STAAR EOC- English II
    •  Grade 11-STAAR EOC- U.S. History

    Elimination of (SSI) Student Success Initiative and addition of House Bill 4545 

    House Bill (HB) 4545, 87th Regular Legislative Session, became effective June 16, 2021, and eliminated Student Success Initiative (SSI) grade retention and retesting requirements for grades 5 and 8 mathematics and reading. As a result, there will only be one administration of the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) grades 5 and 8 mathematics and reading assessments. This administration will be in May to coincide with the administration of other STAAR grades 3–8 assessments.

    In addition, HB 4545 established new requirements for accelerated instruction during the 2021–22 school year for students who did not achieve a passing score on the spring 2021 STAAR tests. Visit the Texas Education Agency’s (TEA) Accelerated Learning Resources webpage for more information related to HB 4545 and accelerated instruction requirements. 


    STAAR - Alternate (STAAR-Alt)

    STAAR–Alt is an alternate assessment based on alternate academic achievement standards and is designed for students with significant cognitive disabilities who meet the participation requirements. STAAR –Alt is administered in the same grades and subjects as STAAR.

    For more information, refer to the special education assessments webpage.



    Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System

    In response to the federal testing requirement of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001, the Texas Education Agency developed an assessment system called TELPAS. This system consists of reading tests and holistically rated assessments of listening, speaking, reading (for K-1 students), and writing. TELPAS is designed to assess the progress that limited English proficient (LEP) students make in learning the English language.

    Under NCLB, states’ English language proficiency assessments must assess students annually in kindergarten through twelfth grade in four language domains: listening, speaking, reading, and writing. TELPAS assesses the following language domains.

    •  Grades K–2 listening, speaking, reading, writing
    •  Grades 3–12 listening, speaking, writing

    The domain of reading in Grades 3–12 is assessed through a multiple choice test. Together, the reading test and the holistically rated listening, speaking, reading and writing assessments provide performance data used to fulfill state and federal reporting requirements. TELPAS reports student performance in terms of four English language proficiency levels: beginning, intermediate, advanced, and advanced high.

    TELPAS is administered to all eligible LEP students, including LEP students who do not participate in a bilingual or English as a second language (ESL) program because of a parental denial.

    For more information, refer to the TELPAS webpage.