Return to Headlines

Forney ISD Announces District Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year

In April of this year, Forney ISD announced the Teachers of the Year for each school in the District. Following those announcements, each Campus Teacher of the Year conducted virtual interviews with a District Teacher of the Year Selection Committee. On Thursday, May 7, the District officially announced the District’s Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year. 

The 2019-2020 District Elementary Teacher of the Year is Brittany Hartley, a third-grade teacher at Crosby Elementary School. 

In announcing the selection of Ms. Hartley as the Crosby Elementary School Teacher of the Year, Crosby Principal Leslie Rader stated, “Brittany is an instructional leader not only on her team, but also on our campus. She is a mentor to a first year teacher and leads a team of seven, 3rd grade teachers. She continuously attends professional development to hone her craft, and seeks ways to make connections between content areas to ensure that students have context for their learning and are well-rounded in their education.” 

Following her interview with the Elementary Teacher of the Year Selection Committee, the committee said, “Mrs. Hartley stood out in several ways. She uses technology with her students to help them see their data and fill in gaps in their own learning. She gives them the tools through technology to see where they need more instruction.  Brittney also stood out as an educator because of her strong belief in the social and emotional health of students.  She believes that knowing her students on a personal level; their interests outside of the classroom, and their parents/guardians helps to push students to meet the goals they set for themselves." 

The committee also added that Mrs. Hartley has stepped up in many leadership roles at the campus and district level. They stated that she focuses on herself as a growing professional, despite 13 years in the classroom, as well as the students as individuals. They added that she was well spoken and will represent Forney ISD well as Elementary Teacher of the Year!

The Secondary Teacher of the Year Selection Committee interviewed all of the Campus Teachers of the Year from the District’s middle schools and high schools.

The Forney ISD 2019-2020 Secondary Teacher of the Year is Jacob Thomas, the Technical Theater Teacher at Forney High School.

Forney High School Principal, Dr. Jonathan Campbell said, “Jacob is the clear leader with efforts in pushing the rollout and sustaining the Capturing Kids Hearts initiative. He is a strong teacher with the natural ability to build relationships with kids, parents and fellow faculty. Furthermore, he gives of his time with campus and district level committees like Process Champions, Campus Site Based Decision Making Committee, and Dress Code Reform.”

The selection committee added, “Jacob’s passion and commitment to his students’ success in school and in the future was evident throughout the interview. His focus on building relationships and leading through trust and listening are skills that all people should emulate. We loved that. He has willingly taken on leadership roles within his campus and the district. It was very clear that his focus on the students’ futures, not just their academic performances in middle or high school, is a priority to him."  

Forney ISD Superintendent Dr. Justin Terry, Board President Greg Pharris, Crosby Principal Leslie Rader and Forney High School Principal Dr. Jonathan Campbell visited Hartley and Thomas at their homes and presented them with their District Teacher of the Year trophies. The District Teachers of the Year were also announced in a District-wide virtual meeting on Thursday, May 7. 

Congratulations to these outstanding teachers on being named the Forney ISD District Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year! They move on to the Region 10, Education Service Center’s Regional Teacher of the Year competition.



Brittany Hartley, Forney ISD Elementary Teacher of the Year



Jacob Thomas, Forney ISD Secondary Teacher of the Year