Return to Headlines

Forney High School Cheer Squad Earns Numerous Awards at NCA Camp

In preparation for the 2021-2022 athletic and cheer season, the varsity, junior varsity (JV), and freshman cheerleading squads from Forney High School attended the National Cheerleading Association (NCA) summer training camp on June 10-13, 2021 at The Gaylord Texan Hotel and Convention Center in Grapevine, Texas. While at the camp, the FHS cheer teams learned a variety of new cheers and chants and dance material as well as participated in team building activities, perfected stunting techniques and participated in daily evaluations and a final camp competition. 

The Forney High Varsity Squad excelled at the camp earning Red Excellence Ribbon for Cheer, Blue Superior Ribbon for Band Chant, the Stunt S.A.F.E. Award, NCA National Bid Winner and a Three-Time Spirit Stick Award.

The Forney JV Cheer Squad earned Blue Superior Ribbons for Chant and Cheer, Technical Excellence Certificates for Motions and Crowd Appeal, NCA National Bid Winner and Two-Time Spirit Stick Recipient.

The Forney Freshman Cheer Squad was awarded Blue Superior Ribbons for Chant and Cheer, Technical Excellence Certificates for Motion and Crowd Appeal, was a NCA National Bid Winner and a Two-Time Spirit Stick Recipient.

Entire program awards were given for the Herkie Highpoint Award and Spirit Award. The Herkie Team Award is voted on by teams at the camp and is given to the one team that demonstrated all the qualities of an ideal team. 

While at camp, cheerleaders from all teams were eligible to earn individual awards. Several Forney High School cheer squad members earned NCA All-American Awards including Addison Rozell (Freshman Team), Jordin Wright (Freshman Team), Gisselle Mancillas (JV), Natalie McMennamy (JV), Emma Chaney (JV), Brinley Tomasek (JV), Hailey Attaway (JV), Karley Attaway (JV), Bailey Guill (Varsity), Bailey Byers (Varsity), Leah McDowell (Varsity), Avery Jackson (Varsity), Avery Jones (Varsity), Addi McMillan (Varsity), Camryn Benefield (Varsity), Isa Pena (Varsity), Arielle Robinson (Varsity), Kaitlyn Ewing (Varsity), Morgan Matthews (Varsity), Makayla Peek (Varsity), Dallis Martinez (Varsity), and Kylee MeHarg (Varsity). The cheerleaders were awarded the NCA All-American Award based on their cheerleading techniques in the fields of jumps, tumbling, stunting, motion, dance and leadership skills.  

In addition, Bailey Guill (Varsity) earned the Individual Leadership Award and Top All-American Award. Giselle Mancillas (JV) and Bailey Guill (Varsity) were awarded the Pin It Forward Award and Leah McDowell (Varsity) and Bailey Guill (Varsity) were the FHS NCA Applicants. Ella Cheek was awarded the Dynamic Dance Award.

FHS Cheer